To be the best at delivering personal, professional service to our customers in all we do.


J. J. Delay of Beresford, South Dakota, organized the Security National Bank, Laurel, Nebraska, February 4, 1928, with capital stock of $25,000 and a surplus of $5,000. The first Board of Directors members included: J. J. Delay, President, Earl Schuler, W. W. Collins, T. S. Manley, Matthew Bergen, and A. A. Soderstrom. The first annual statement listed $230,000 in deposits and $30,000 in capital investment.

On October 10, 1929, the First National Bank of Omaha, Nebraska purchased the controlling interest of the bank and Earl Sutherland became the President.

Charles Ebmeier, Earl Schuler, C. W. Fahnestock, Ruth Ebmeier, and L. E. Schuler purchased the bank on October 11, 1935 from the First National Bank. Charles Ebmeier was elected President.

On June 1, 1937, Charles and Ruth Ebmeier sold their interest in the bank and L. E. Schuler was elected President. Following the death of Earl Schuler in 1940, his interest and L. E. Schuler's interest in the bank, were purchased by a group of Laurel businessmen. The Board of Directors included Dr. R. P. Carroll, F. I. Solso, A. D. Felber, V. E. McNabb and C. W. Fahnestock, President.

In 1973 the Security National Bank was purchased from the Fahnestock family by a group of local investors, headed by Richard E. Adkins of Osmond, Nebraska. These investors formed First Laurel Security Company, a one-bank holding company. The investors included Richard E. Adkins, Richard E. Adkins, Jr., B. D. Pehrson, William Haskell, Fay P. Stewart, Don Pfeil of Wausa and James Stratton of Osmond. Richard E. Adkins, Jr. left the Geneva State Bank, Geneva, Nebraska, to move with his family to Laurel where he assumed the Vice-President position in the Security Bank. The bank's assets at this time were $7,000,000.

On May 10, 1980, ground was broken and construction began on a new bank building in Laurel and construction was completed December 22, 1980.

Upon the unexpected death of Richard "Dick" Adkins on September 6, 1980, the banking staff was reorganized and Richard "Rick" Adkins, Jr. became the president.

In April 1991, the Security State Bank of Allen, which was owned by First Laurel Security Co. was converted to a branch office of Security National Bank.

In November 1998, Osmond State Bank, Osmond NE, was merged into Security National Bank.

In September 2002 SB opened a third branch in Hartington, NE and established 24-hour ATM access at the Allen location.

In July 2005 Coleridge National Bank, Coleridge, NE was merged into Security National Bank, bringing the number of branches available for our customers to five.

In June 2012 Security National Bank changed the name to Security Bank.

The current Board of Directors include:

Richard E. Adkins, Jr., Chairman
Joan Adkins
Keith Knudsen
Susan Koranda
Steve Anderson
Dr. Mark Becker
Sara Skretta

return to top

HomePrivacy PolicyTerms of UseUSA PATRIOT ACTAbout UsLocations & Hours Personal Banking • Business BankingLoansRates
VISAReorder Your Personal Checks
My Kind of Bank
Member FDIC
Equal Housing Lender
Equal Housing Lender

©2010 Security Bank.  All rights reserved.  Powered by ProfitStars. NOTICE: Security Bank is not responsible for and has no control over the subject matter, content, information, or graphics of the web sites that have links here. Please contact us with any concerns or comments.